Gluten-Free Pie Crust

This gluten free pie crust is so good, given the option I’d choose it over a traditional wheat one.  It’s tender and crusty and holds together beautifully, perfect for sweet pies or even savory quiches.

Makes one 9 inch pie crust.

Oven 350 degrees.

Large bowl, mix:
1/3      cup Potato starch, plus extra for dusting
1/3      cup Tapioca flour
1/3      cup Millet flour
1/3      cup Almond meal
1/2      teaspoon Sea salt
1         tablespoon of unrefined Sugar *Optional
1/2      cup (1 stick) Butter, cold and cut into small pieces
(I’m anti-cow so I use Goat butter  but you could also use a Vegan butter of your choice)
1         Egg, lightly beaten

Roll out on wax paper, flip wax paper and dough into a 10-inch circle flat pan and press to the edges. Next, invert a 9-inch pie pan on top of the dough then quickly flip over both the pan and the dough so that the dough now rests in the pan. Gently peel away and discard wax paper and press dough into pie plate, patching it together, if needed. Crimp and trim the edges as desired then prick sides and bottom all over with a fork.  To get the nice pro looking edge simply press another (crimped) pie plate on top.

Line crust with parchment paper and fill with pie weights or dried beans, if you don’t weight the bottom down it will likely bubble,  rise and crack a bit. Bake until crust is just set and slightly dry around the edges, about 15 minutes. Remove parchment paper and pie weights, fill with pie filling and bake as needed. Alternately, for a pie that requires a pre-baked crust, return to oven and bake until cooked through, about 15 minutes more.

5 responses to “Gluten-Free Pie Crust

  1. Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this article i
    thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant piece of writing.

  2. Greetings I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by accident,
    while I was looking on Bing for something else, Anyways
    I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a
    marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  3. There’s definately a lot to know about this subject. I love all of the points you have made.

  4. Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you need any html coding expertise to make your
    own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  5. Excellent, what a website it is! This blog provides valuable information to us,
    keep it up.

Leave a Reply

