Gluten-Free Pierogis

I’m thrilled to share this recipe!  Pierogis are one of those comfort foods I’m sure gluten-free people think they’ll never enjoy again, I know I haven’t had them in YEARS and I grew up on them.  I even had a Baba and Gido, maybe being of Ukrainian decent makes me bit more proud of this one.   I spent a few hours or so working on the dough this weekend but it truly only took two batches to get right, the first I made vegan and they were good but not quite good enough.  The second batch I added greek goat yogurt and they turned out perfect, honestly can’t even tell they are gluten-free and just to be sure I served them to my healthy lunch group today and got two thumbs up from all!  (If anyone wants a vegan version feel free to email me for the recipe).  Fill them however you wish, the originals are cheese and potato and I considered do a Daiya Vegan Cheese/Potato one myself but I went with potato, onion and squash and goat cheese instead.  Experiment for your own or Google for recipe ideas.   Make the fillings first, then dough, once your pierogis are formed you can cook to serve right away or,  freeze them for later use.  My Baba used to serve them freshly boiled then fry the left overs with onions another day, today, for the lunch group I boiled then fried right away.  Again, it’s totally up to you these little guys are good anyway you like them.  Enjoy and please post comments!

Fillings

Roasted Potato, Onion and Garlic with Parsley

3 medium Yukon potatoes, quartered, skin on
½ medium onion,  chopped into larger pieces
½ a head of garlic, peeled, cloves left whole
Sunflower oil or butter (I used goat butter)
handful of fresh Parsley, chopped
Sea Salt and Pepper to taste

Toss in oil and roast everything except parsley in a roasting pan at 350 degrees until the potatoes are soft.  Hand mash or food process with a bit of milk, I used almond milk.  Season with sea salt and pepper.

Buttercup Squash, Goat Cheese and Thyme

1 small Buttercup Squash
Sunflower oil
Handful fresh Thyme, de-stemmed
3-4 ounces of soft Goat Cheese

Arrange chopped squash skin side down in a baking pan, drizzle with oil and sprinkle with Thyme and sea salt.  Roast at 350 degrees until soft.  Scoop out squash and hand mash with goat cheese, add a bit more thyme and sea salt and pepper  to taste.

Pierogi Dough

Medium bowl:
2              cups Tapioca Flour
1/4         cup Arrowroot Powder
3/4         cup White Rice Flour (Sweet Rice Flour would be better if you can find it)
3/4         cup Potato Starch (not potato flour)
2 1/2      teaspoons gluten-free Baking Powder
2              teaspoons Xanthan Gum
1              teaspoon Sea Salt
Small bowl
2              large Eggs, beaten
3/4         cup Greek Goat Yogurt
1/2         cup Water
1/8         cup Olive Oil

Combine and mix dry ingredients.  Combine and mix wet then, add to dry.  Hand stir a bit then knead dough.

Work in small batches, roll out on parchment paper to about an 1/8 on an inch thick.  If you are having trouble with sticking you can add a little flour to your rolling pin or better yet simply roll between two pieces of parchment paper, you’ll appreciate then stickiness later. I use a small glass to cut my rounds then rolled a bit more to get the thick/thinness I wanted.  Once you have 5-10 cut outs scoop approximately 1 teaspoon of filling in the middle then pick up the dough and fold in half and simply pinch to seal edges.

To cook you simply drop into boiling salted water, once they float they are done.  From fresh this only takes 30 seconds or less, from frozen a bit longer but again just wait till they float!  If you are frying them too just scoop from boiling water into an oiled or butter pan.

Serve with Greek Goat Yogurt or Sour Cream.  Yum yum yum!

One response to “Gluten-Free Pierogis

  1. This is the most delicious recipe! No difference in taste or texture to regular perogies! Love it and can’t wait to have it again! Hopefully soon 😉

Leave a Reply

