Creamy Roasted Garlic Soup

FallMarketFirst day of Fall is upon us and that usually means a shift in energy, mood, activities, clothing and food.  In my home we are well on our way transitioning out from Summer BBQ’d salmon, grilled veggies and salads to meals of soup, stew and chilli.  I’ve been keeping this blog collection of my recipes for a few years now and the trend I’ve noticed is that I don’t post as much in the Summer months, in part that is because I eat really simple foods which don’t require much creative planning but, it’s also because I’m outside enjoying the beautiful weather.  There is something about the darker months that invokes a need to nest, thus, moving my creative side indoors to the kitchen.

229654779_9d8cb7d3c6So far we have had a few Fall meals that are staples for me and already posted here but, I have one new soup that I just created to share:  Creamy Roasted Garlic Soup, which was inspired by a little bout of the cough and sniffles that I really didn’t want to let turn into a full blown cold and garlic, is well known for its healing, immune boosting properties.  Conveniently, my neighborhood corner grocery store often has a great selection of local and organic produce and has brought in a huge lot of beautiful looking organic garlic bulbs that, I not only bought a large bag of but, used to plant in my garden too!

roasted garlic 028This recipes is quick and easy to make aside from the process of roasting and then peeling 60 cloves of garlic, I’m not going to go into too much detail on that today, basically I just roasted, allowed to cool enough so I could handle the cloves and then hand squeezed as much as I could out of the skins, nothing too complicated but, Google I’m sure, can offer some good methods for roasting and extracting garlic.  My only request is that you use an Organic Garlic and suggest you go with a larger bulb simply for ease. Also, of note, I used Goat Butter and Yogurt here but it’s perfectly fine if you want to use  Cow Butter and Sour Cream if that’s what you prefer but do go organic.   I served this soup with some home-made rye croutons and it was a huge hit.  In case you’re wondering, I beat that looming cold in a matter of days with healthy foods, sleep, lots of lemon water, tea and a quality Vitamin C/Vitamin D/Probiotic.  Hopefully you all have a happy healthy Fall!

Now for the recipe…..

Creamy Roasted Garlic Soup
Oven 350 degrees
Medium heavy bottomed soup pot
Food processor or blender
60          Organic Garlic Cloves (approximately 6 to 10 bulbs depending)
2-3         tablespoons Organic Butter  or Coconut Oil (I use Goat Butter)
2             large Sweet White Onions, diced
3             tablespoons fresh Thyme, chopped
2             cup Organic Broth
1              Bay Leaf
Bunch   Italian Parsley stems removed, chopped
Sea Salt and White Pepper
3/4         cup Greek Goat Yogurt

First step is to roast your garlic bulbs, this can be done in advance or if you’re super pressed for time, Whole foods sells roasted garlic cloves in oil at their self-serve pesto/olive bar.  I have not tried their garlic but I do trust the quality.  I roast garlic at 350 degrees, tops chopped off, drizzled in olive oil and wrapped in tin foil and just watch for doneness but again, Google is a good source for accurate methods here.   Once you’ve got your roasted garlic ready to go you can start….

Sweat the onions in the butter on medium-high heat for 5-10 minutes being careful not to burn.  Add fresh thyme and roasted garlic then sauté for a few more minutes, stirring to incorporate.

Add broth and bay leaf and bring to a boil.  Reduce and simmer for 10 minutes or until the mixture has reduced just a little.

Remove bay leaf.

Transfer to blender or food processor and add parsley.  Blend till smooth.  Add Yogurt, pulse some more and return to pot.

Season with sea salt and pepper.

Serve with your favourite crusty bread or croutons.

Leave a Reply

