Sprouted Buckwheat Granola with Cinnamon, Dates and Maple

Happy New Year Food Book Followers! Hope you all had a nice break and got lots of time with loved ones. I had a wonderful last couple weeks of 2014 and am looking forward to what 2015 brings. Only one more day and I will be back to my reality of crazy busyness.  Unfortunately I will continue to likely be too busy to create much of anything new and post between now and April but, I do have a few new recipes from the past few months jotted down to share and will do my best to get them out.

wpid-20141208_171530.jpgEach year I have created  healthier versions of holiday baking classics and posted but this year, with my time limitations and being in the midst of exams until mid December, I had to do something a little different.  I actually didn’t do ANY  baking this holiday – gasp!  I did however make massive quantities of my sprouted buckwheat granola and jarred that for my friends and family.

wpid-20141206_230925.jpgI have meant to post this simple recipe for a while now, the main reason I haven’t is because I never measure what I put into it.  Now, I am giving you measurements but I encourage you to splash, sprinkle and pinch to your own liking rather than just following the recipe. I prefer my granola lightly sweetened, for the purposes of gifting and this recipe I made it a bit sweeter.  Its nothing like you’d find in a store bought version as far as sweetness goes so if you prefer little sweetness too the measurement I provide is probably sufficient. You can always adjust if you wish on your next batch.

To sprout buckwheat, or any grain for that matter, all you do is soak, rinse and repeat until the grain cracks.  With buckwheat this usually takes about 3 days.  If you look closely you will be able to see some tiny sprouting tails. Buckwheat groats give off a really goopyness while soaking, just keep it covered with fresh water on your counter for 3 or so days, rinsing it and covering with new water each day.   When it is done soaking and just sprouting, rinse well and strain well.  Sprouting is so great.  The health benefits are numerous, it can turn a hard-to-digest whole buckwheat kernel into a light, nutrient-dense whole grain. All grains contain certain anti-nutrients inherent in the seed. These anti-nutrients preserve the seed until it has a chance to germinate and grow. By soaking and sprouting you reduce anti-nutrients and make the grain more readily available and digestible.  That’s all I’m going to write about sprouting benefits right now, if you are looking for more, Google has it covered. But whatever you do, DO NOT skip this part for this recipe!  Oh yes, and use raw buckwheat groats, toasted will not sprout, and, use all organic, quality ingredients!

wpid-20141208_171541.jpgThis recipe is dehydrated in the oven, I have posted before about using your oven for dehydrating.  If your oven sets as low then you are good to go at about 150 degrees, just set it and keep an eye on the dryness over the next couple days.  If your oven only goes as low as 170 or so degrees as my current oven does, it is still totally doable, just use a metal spoon or utensil to keep the door cracked open which allows moisture and extra heat to escape.  This recipe usually takes about 48 hours to dry out.  If you do a double batch, (which I often do) it might take longer but just keep an eye on it.

2       large baking sheets lined with parchment paper
6       cups Sprouted Buckwheat Groats (about 4 cups pre-soaking)
1        cup Hemp Seeds
1        cup Chia Seeds
1/2   cup Dates, chopped
1/4   cup Cinnamon
1/4   cup Maple Syrup
3-4   tablespoons Coconut Oil, melted
1        teaspoon Himalayan Mineral Salt

Combine buckwheat, melted oil, maple, cinnamon, and sea salt then divide on two parchment paper lined baking sheets to dehydrate in your oven for 24 to 48 hours. (I love cinnamon and always sprinkle extra on top before putting into the oven).  When done drying combine with the hemp and chia seeds and chopped dates.

Leave a Reply

